UNM HSC Institute for Ethics

1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Physical Location:
917 Vassar

Phone: (505) 272-4566
Fax: (505) 272-4569


ConsultationIn its efforts to provide clinical consultation and service, the Institute for Ethics offers:

  • Research ethics consultation
  • Clinical ethics consultation
  • Professionalism consultation
  • Policy consultation

The Ethics Consultation Service is provided by members of the Biomedical Ethics Committee at the Health Sciences Center. The members of this committee come from many walks of life: community members, doctors, nurses, social workers, lawyers, clergy and others with training and experience in ethical decision - making.

There is no fee charged for an ethics consultation; it is a service provided by the Health Sciences Center.

Download the brochure (English)

Download the brochure (Español)

Biomedical Ethics Committee:

  • Anne Simpson, MD, Chair
  • Jerald Belitz, PhD, Vice-Chair
  • David Archuleta, PharmD program
  • David Arnold, PharmD program
  • Debra Au, Law program
  • E. Brooke Baker, MD
  • Richard Cravens, Esq., Team Leader
  • Gloria Doherty, ACNP
  • Helene Fellen, LMFT, LPCC, LMSW (Consultant)
  • Cody Fritts, SOM program
  • Ellen Geske, Law program
  • Iric Guthrie, SOM program
  • Brian Husen, MD
  • Natasha James, MD
  • Gail Joralemon
  • Elijah Kamermans, SOM program
  • Jessica Kirk, RN, MSN
  • Savannah Krebsbach, SOM program
  • Tyler Laurence, SOM program
  • Tina Lujan
  • Barbara Mathis, JD, Team Leader
  • Parisa Mortaji, SOM program
  • Sandra Naranjo
  • Beret Ravenscroft, JD, MSN, PhD in nursing program
  • James Reese, Jr., MD
  • Stephanie Sanderson, DNP, CNS, RN, CCNS, CCRN
  • Chloe Sharp, SOM program
  • Alex Stelzner, MD
  • Patricia Stelzner, JD
  • Sarah Treviso, Team Leader
  • Sara Tuzel, SOM program
  • Andrea Vanderwoude, RN, Team Leader
  • Alex Vold, SOM program
  • Judea Wiggins, SOM Program
  • Natalie M. Younger

Educational Subcommittee:

  • Helene Fellen, LMFT, LPCC, LMSW, Chair
  • Gloria Doherty, ACNP
  • Cody Fritts, SOM program
  • Barbara Mathis, JD
  • Trisha Powers-Novak, RN
  • Alex Stelzner, MD
  • Patricia Stelzner, JD
  • Sarah Treviso